My Account     Contact Us     Cart

Illustrator shortcuts not working

Home Forums MAPublisher General Illustrator shortcuts not working

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Kate 1 week, 5 days ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #16703

    maitolen
    Participant

    I have windows 10 and Mapublisher 10.2 on my new PC and while Mapublisher is installed I often lose ability to use shortcuts (for example Ctrl+Z). It happens when open Layers windows (also on another cases) and try to use any keyboard shortcut. If I click on artboard then all starts working fine again. Same thing happens on both Illustrator CC 2017 and 2018. My colleagues have older windows and don’t have this problem.

    What could it be?

    • This topic was modified 1 year, 4 months ago by  maitolen.
    #16705

    rebecca
    Moderator

    Hello,

    Thank you for your post! Has this only started happening recently? Do you have any specific keyboard settings? Do you have any other programs running at the same time, or a lot of other applications in use? Do you use any keyboard/mouse sharing software such as Synergy?

    Just to clarify, is it the Adobe Layers panel that you have open when the issue appears, or the MAP Views panel?

    Let me know so we can investigate further!

    Best,
    Rebecca B
    Applications Specialist
    Avenza Systems Inc

    #16791

    maitolen
    Participant

    I think problem might have been there all along. First I tought it is some random hickup of Illustrator 2018. Newest versions tend to have bugs.

    As soon as I click on any menus inside Illustrator (does not matter if Layers or Map Views or Paragraph styles) all shortcuts are disabled until click the general area of artwork. Libraries menu (!) seems to be an exeption. Tools and File,Edit,… menu are not making problem appear. So the menus are sort of acting like different program or window. As soon as MP is uninstalled, everything works fine.

    – I have tried changing locale in Mapublisher preferences
    – different keyboard
    – different keyboard layout and language (Estonian currently)
    – different Illustrator version
    – reinstalling MP

    Can anyone confirm that they have Windows 10 working properly with MaPublisher?

    #16942

    rebecca
    Moderator

    Hello,

    Thank you for the details! Would you be able to contact us at help.avenza.com with your contact information and we can look into filing a ticket for you?

    Thanks in advance!

    Best,
    Rebecca B
    Applications Specialist
    Avenza Systems Inc

    #17076

    evrardsirois
    Participant

    hi

    #17524

    maitolen
    Participant

    If there only was a quick way to disable MaPublisher while Illustrator is running (simulating uninstall) and enabling it when I need it.

    #17547

    maitolen
    Participant

    I tested it in other two windows 10 machines and problem is always there. I am a little bit confused why no one has confirmed that AI+win10+Mapublisher always produces the same problem. It would have saved a lot of troubleshooting time.

    #26293

    maitolen
    Participant

    I am little surprised as I am the only one having this problem and yet I do not get it working other windows 10 machines either.
    I cannot be only one using shortcuts in Adobe Illustrator. There must be someone at least who uses Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V and find them not working.

    #26306

    Kate
    Moderator

    Thank you for your post.

    We have had a few reports of various Illustrator tools/shortcuts not working, however, we have been unable to reproduce this on our end in order to put a fix in place. We believe it is a focus issue (i.e. the focus is getting drawn to a MAPubisher panel and therefore away from the Illustrator artboard).

    Is this something that you have been able to consistently reproduce across documents/working sessions? If so, can you please provide the exact step-by-step process so that we can try to reproduce this on our end and hopefully get a fix in place?

    As well, if you can please confirm that you are using Windows 10 for all instances where you are experiencing this, as well as what version of MAPublisher and Adobe Illustrator? Finally, if you are only seeing this behavior on specific documents, can you please share one of these documents with us via the form at support.avenza.com?

    Thank you,

    Kate
    Avenza Support

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic. Log in or register here